CFM Certification

The information below, provided by the Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM) is a brief introduction on the what is required to become a Certified Floodplain Manager. Please visit the ASFPM Site for more information and registration materials.

There are no scheduled dates for the CFM Exam in Indiana in the near future.  Please see the ASFPM Calendar for exams being offered in other states or contact Anita Nance to set up an exam date in Indiana.

Certification Classifications

The ASFPM CFM Program recognizes individuals who become certified, who pass the ASFPM exam, or an exam prepared ASFPM chapters that certify floodplain managers. The ASFPM offers floodplain manager certifications in two categories.

CFM®is a registered trademark of the ASFPM Certified Floodplain Manager Program and may only be used by Nationally Accredited CFMs.

1. ASFPM awarded Certified Floodplain Manager (CFM)

ASFPM Certified Floodplain Manager (CFM) This certification is awarded by the ASFPM directly to individuals who apply and successfully pass the exam, demonstrating their knowledge of the basic national standards and programs of floodplain management, but who reside or work in states where ASFPM accredited certification is not available.

2. State [or another entity] Certified Floodplain Manager (CFM)

This certification is awarded directly by a state, ASFPM chapter, state agency, or state or regional association that has been accredited by the ASFPM Certification Board of Regents (CBOR) in accordance with the CFM Program Charter. This certification, although issued by the appropriate state or other entity, is entitled to include a statement that it is "ASFPM accredited".

A person awarded ASFPM accredited certification under a state program might not be recognized as an ASFPM accredited CFM in other states. States with an ASFPM accredited CFM Program will determine the conditions for certification in that state.  At present, there is no Indiana state certification program.


The initial ASFPM Certified Floodplain Manager certification will be awarded upon the successful completion of three steps: (1) submitting completed application and fee; (2) submitting an employment Verification form; and (3) receiving a grade of 70% or higher on the certification exam.

Maintaining Certification

After receiving the distinct designation of CFM, a person must:

  • Submittal of renewal application;

  • Submittal of renewal fee;

  • Submittal of proof of 16 Continuing Education Credits (CECs) within the previous 24 months, with a maximum of 12 CECs earned in any one year.

When these conditions are met, a two-year renewal will be issued.

Eligibility for ASFPM CFM

The ASFPM CFM Program is directed toward individuals from widely varying occupations, interests, and educational backgrounds who have routine floodplain management duties. This includes representatives from the following groups; community/state/federal officials, the private sector, academia, interest groups, and private citizens. For the purposes of the ASFPM CFM Program, floodplain management is defined as "Activities and efforts undertaken to reduce flood losses and human suffering and to protect the natural and beneficial values and functions of floodplains." Anyone can apply and take the ASFPM CFM exam, except those from a state with an accredited state certification program, who must apply for and take that state's exam. A list of certified state programs is available from the ASFPM website at Under special circumstances, exceptions may be granted by the state entity for an applicant to take the national exam.

More Information

The ASFPM site has a thorough description of the program along with application materials, study guides, testing dates, and more.